How Old Is Too Old For….. Dungarees??

Last week as I perused River Island with a few friends I saw a pair of dungaree shorts. My first thought was “oh those are cute” my second was “for someone 10 years younger than me”.

Depending on how old you are you may remember wearing dungarees the first time around (just for the record I don’t!) or maybe you look back at photos of you as a toddler dressed in dungarees or a pinafore and cringe/accuse your parents of child cruelty *ahem*

Full length dungarees make me think of bad boy bands, TLC and hippie women!

ASOS, River Island and Topshop are just a few of the stores selling denim dungarees.

ASOS £40

ASOS £40

River Island £30

River Island £30

Topshop £38

Topshop £38

But then I started thinking that dungarees are not all that much different from playsuits so what’s the big deal? I wore a playsuit on Sunday without feeling like an oversized toddler. Is it the fact that dungarees are usually made of denim whereas my playsuits are generally a bit dressier? Perhaps. For me it is the whole age thing. Would I look like a 1990s throwback? Possibly. But then I started looking at celebrities and how they wore this puzzling fashion:

hoito kh

Liv Tyler is all smiles as she spends her labor day out and about in New York City

hoito zd

hoito pink hoito rb

Conclusion? I will not under any circumstances wear full length denim dungarees but I might just be coming around to the short version. I think I dress younger than my 28 years but I wouldn’t say I dress too young. Maybe I’m in the wrong for trying to put an age limit on clothing.

What do you think? Are you a fan of denim dungarees? Or do they just make you think of the 90s?

One thought on “How Old Is Too Old For….. Dungarees??

  1. Pingback: Is Your Wardrobe Linked To Your Mindset? | lifeaccordingtolea

Leave a Reply

