Winter Footwear

So following on from yesterday’s hunt for interesting knitwear I’ve decided to focus on searching for ideal winter boots. A few of my friends have the same problem as me when it comes to winter footwear – how to wear flat boots without a) looking a bit butch  b) clashing with the rest of your outfit or  c) having soaking wet feet due to suede boots and snow!

A skinny or stiletto heel in winter is no good for me at all especially as I still have the scars from having to walk miles home 2 years ago in skinny heeled boots when the snow was so bad all public transport was cancelled! I must have fallen about 80 times (NO exaggeration) and started crying about 5 minutes into my journey. So because of that I face the dilemma of finding flat boring practical boots that are pretty enough to wear with my standard winter wardrobe of my usual dresses with thick tights.

Being on a (almost non-existent) budget means choosing a high-priced pair of boots is out of the question however I have included some more expensive options for you rich buggers out there 😉

ALDO

 £90

£120

Love that touch of leopard print and although they aren’t flat I reckon the short chunky heel would be rather comfy. The longer tan boots were made to be tucked in skinny jeans and paired with a cozy cable knit cardigan

TK Maxx

Timberland £59.99

Bertie £44.99

Wow who knew Timberland had evolved so much from their days of the classic “timbies” that every one of my age had. In fact I loved those boots so much I owned them in pink AND baby blue as well as the obligatory tan! However these Timberland boots look sturdy and stylish. Although I usually detest wearing fabric boots in winter I couldn’t resist posting a pic of these cute Bertie boots.

Hush Puppies

£85

Were £130 now £65

And again who knew Hush Puppies had been so thoroughly modernised?! I particularly like the ankle boots although the grey pair would make a change from black or brown/tan.

ASOS

£50

£60

I’m drawn to the colour of the ankle boots – berry/burgundy seems to be my A/W colour. Knee length leather boots for 60 quid- ooh yes please!

Office

£68

£80

The tan boots are very “me” and I like the studding on the black ones.

Schuh

£90

£95

Love, love, love the top pair. the studding and colour of the boots are lush! The black boots are basic but appear well made and would work with the majority of a winter wardrobe.

River Island

£55

£70

I actually surprised myself by liking the quilted boots! And the black ankle ones are much nicer than cowboy boots yet still have a “Western” feel to them.

 

Other websites worthy of looking at for fab footwear are Chinese Laundry, Moda In Pelle, Viva La Diva, Dune and Jafari

Do you sacrifice style over comfort? Have I missed any great stores/websites which sell boots?

Leave a Reply

