The Woes Of An Unemployed Bum!

WARNING! WARNING!

I am about to have a massive rant so if you don’t want to read anymore about the perils of retail management then leave now

(please don’t, please stay!)

I have worked full-time since I was 16 years old, either within retail or bar work, and have been seeking retail management work since September 2011. Needless to say I know there are thousands and thousands out of work but how can it possibly be so hard for me to get a job?? I have 10 years management experience yet even when applying for lesser roles I am unsuccessful and sometimes do not even warrant a reply which in my opinion is just plain rude. OK so maybe it wasn’t the best made plan to leave my last role as assistant manager for a “value fashion retailer” but circumstances meant I would have committed violence if I didn’t leave.

Here’s a typical job-hunting day for me:

Wake up to emails advertising jobs from 5 or 6 different retail agencies – dismiss 90% of the jobs.

Check 8 different websites looking for jobs.

Apply for at least 10 jobs.

Apply for as many jobs as I can through company websites.

At least once a week I will physically hand in my CV to several stores.

I’m not asking for a Store Manager’s job in a mahoosive luxury store – although y’know if I was offered….

I apply for roles that are, in my opinion, applicable to me. I have vast skills learnt through on-the-job experience plus I am a qualified fashion stylist after completing an online course which I funded myself and in the process left myself broke. Customer service is mightily important to me, nowt worse than getting crappy service. My visual merchandising skills are one of my assets and I talk to just about anyone. All of that in mind WHY am I so unemployable?

I have been for interviews and am usually the best dressed candidate there, bar one interview, I usually feel the interviews go well and yet inevitably I end up being rejected. Another bugbear of mines about job hunting is at the interview I always ask if I will be given feedback on how I interviewed regardless if I get the job or not and I’m always told yes, I will receive said feedback. Unfortunately 99% of the time I receive no feedback. How exactly am I supposed to better my interviewing technique if they won’t tell me where I’m going wrong??

As time goes on I feel more and more disheartened. I feel that at my age and with my experience it would actually be more detrimental to my career to accept a checkout job in a supermarket. That would be soul destroying to me, although I’m not hating on people who do that job, but I’m looking for my ideal career.

Any pearls of wisdom of how to achieve my dream job?

Should I just quit my whinging and take any job for the sake of having a job?

Would love to know thoughts on this.

2 thoughts on “The Woes Of An Unemployed Bum!

Leave a Reply

