The Power of Accessories

It is always better to be slightly underdressed.
Coco Chanel

It is a known fact that accessories can make or break an outfit but who is to say how many accessories are too many??? Some people such as the ManRepeller and Susie Bubble can easily wear layer over awesome layer and rock an envious arm party whilst others such as  Keiko Lynn look amazing with one standout piece. My problem is that I feel the need to pile on the accessories to look how I feel a “proper” fashion blogger should, more often than not though I end up feeling like a twonk. Having said that if I don’t have any accessories I feel practically naked! I have a wide array of bracelets and bangles and frequently sport an arm party but will try to keep the rest of my accessories to a minimum, on other days I feel good piling on the necklaces and rings whilst wearing statement shoes or a bag.

Every time a woman leaves off something she looks better, but every time a man leaves off something he looks worse.  ~Will Rogers

I love my hat collection as well, it has taken me a long time to find the right styles of hats so when I do find a sequinned beenie hat I tend to buy it in multiple colours. I also have a floppy 70s style hat (which everyone takes the piss outta me for wearing) and a very girlie lilac lace trilby.

My gorgeous niece wearing my hat!


The great Nina Garcia in her book The One Hundred says that animal print accessories should be kept to a minimum, one piece only- Whilst I agree with alot of what she says in the book, I have to disagree with this. I love to mix up my animal prints. Right now I’m wearing zebra print flats from Garage and a black blazer with snakeskin print cuffs from Sainsburys. With my love of animal prints how can I not mix them occasionally?!

Sunglasses are another accessory that can make an outfit feel dressed. I live for summer so I can wear my 6 or 7 pairs of sunglasses, I can be feeling awful but throw on a pair of sunnies and I can brave the world! I was distraught when my favourite pair, Jean Paul Gaultier ones, broke – a friend even said it was the end of an era because for years everytime the sun shone I wore those shades, those bad boys had seen me through alot of good and bad times. Geek chic glasses can also add to certain outfits but I don’t tend to wear them very often as I feel they have been worn to death by celebs and non-celebs alike.

My unconventional sunglasses holder

In the photo below I’m wearing a belt, cocktail ring, two bangles and a necklace along with a fairly statement bag (unseen) is that too many accessories?? Then and there I would have said no but I could wear the same outfit tomorrow and remove the bangles as I feel they are too much.

Also does dramatic hair and/or makeup have an effect on how many accessories you wear?? Is it just trial and error when it comes to accessories??

Leave a Reply

